Location: McCordsville IN USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Foreign Language
Subjects: ESL, Spanish

Asbel C. of McCordsville IN USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Asbel C.
Gender: Male   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

My name is Asbel and I'm a native from Cuba. Spanish is my first language, however, I dominate English and Spanish equally. Language & grammar have always been a forte subject for me. Although Spanish is my first language and the only language I spoke until about age 6, I took Advanced Spanish every year in elementary & high school in order to learn all of the grammatical rules associated with the language. At the age of 8 (while in 3rd grade), I was already competing in spanish spelling bees and contests, winning awards at the state level and receiving prizes like family vacation trips and making my first appearances in newspapers in the South Florida region.

All of my life, I have been a part of organizations or community groups that are solely Spanish. Living in Miami (which I call Cuba #2) for 22 years was a great experience, not only because of the opportunity to live in a place where Spanish is the main language in many places you go to, but also because of the diversity of people and customs, and even the variety of dialects within the Spanish language that one is able to experience in a place that is known for being one of the primary melting pots in the U.S.

For over a decade, I have worked in office environments where everyone was Spanish and even some of the staff was comprised of Spanish-speaking-only individuals. In addition to this, I have served as Senior Pastor or Asst. Pastor of Spanish congregations for many years. I am often requested to speak at Spanish or English events and conferences nationally as well as in Europe and South America, and have served at many of these events as the translator, whether from English into Spanish, or Spanish into English. I have also performed translation services for profit and non-profit organizations over the years and translated countless documents, as well as served as a Spanish interpreter for the organizations I have worked for, some of which have been Fortune 500 companies.

Teaching is a gift that I possess, and the encouragement, ability to transfer knowledge, and passion that I bring to the experience is said by many to be Amazing!. Those that know me best would describe me as a person of integrity with a professional demeanor, one who is highly motivated and challenge-driven to accomplish great things, and an individual who gives the utmost attention and dedication to the task at hand with a commitment to excellence.

As a people-oriented individual, with excellent communication skills, fluent in English and Spanish, with a broad range of cultural experience with the people and customs of nations of the Caribbean, South & Central America, Japan, France, Belgium, Canada and Russia, I bring a rich and expansive understanding to the student that not only encompasses the scope of the lesson, but also a realistic, true-life approach when speaking Spanish, that prepares them for the real world, day-in and day-out interactions that they are going to have as they use their new language at home, the marketplace, with their clients, etc., etc. I welcome the opportunity to help you go to the next level in Spanish and conquer the language of romance!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $35.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Other
Major: Computer Science & Music
School: Wagner Music Conservatory & Miami-Dade Community College
Teacher Certification: No