Location: Skokie IL USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Foreign Language
Subjects: Italian, Spanish

Julia C. of Skokie IL USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Julia C.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am a certified Spanish teacher and have taught high school Spanish for 11 years, as well as tutored high school and middle school students for the last 5 years. I have taught levels Spanish I through Advanced Placement in high school and Spanish college classes. I have both a Bachelors and Masters degree in Spanish. In graduate school I studied Spanish Linguistics, which included courses in how to acquire and teach languages. I studied and lived in Costa Rica and Mexico and have traveled extensively throughout Latin America, so I bring a real world experience to my teaching. I teach by using Spanish as much as possible so that the students acquire the language as naturally as possible. I can work on grammar review, writing, AP or SAT II test prep, oral competence, and overall classwork practice. I am also able to tutor Italian.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $40.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Spanish Linguistics
School: University of Illinois at Urbana
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher