Location: Valparaiso IN USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Geometry, Middle School Math

Diana S. of Valparaiso IN USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Diana S.
Gender: Female   Age: 18-21
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Hello! My name is Diana. Even before I began it as a job in December 2009, tutoring was a large part of my life. From an early age, my parents raised me to try hard in school, and as a result of this, I often grasped material more quickly than other students. This led to me teaching the material to--in fact, tutoring--many of my friends in various subjects, often with good results, from elementary until the end of high school. More recently, my youngest brother, who is currently in middle school, has occasional math homework troubles, and he always seems to understand the material better when I explain it to him than when my parents do. Additionally, I taught dance classes for a little over a year and assisted regular dance instructors for over two and a half years before that. During that time, I worked with kids and teenagers of all ages and learned how to deal with their frustrations and attention spans. I had a high school GPA of 3.94 out of a 4.0 scale and am currently a college sophomore.

If you would like to know a little about my personality, I am friendly, hard-working, determined, honest but tactful, patient, understanding,and kind. I have friends ranging from much younger than me to my age to those much older than me, so I usually get along with and can relate to both students and their parents.

My tutoring philosophy is that individual needs must be taken into account in order for the student to make progress. Some large student-help organizations have a rigid, set-in-stone lesson plan that they attempt to apply to all learners of a certain age group in a subject. From my experience, I have seen that method to be highly ineffective and frustrating for everyone involved. Instead, I analyze each student's needs and figure out where to begin and which steps to take to get the student caught up to his or her classmates, making sure he or she understands each detail as completely as possible along the way.

I currently tutor one student outside of TutorMatch in algebra 2, but in addition to math, I am happy to provide services in English (my favorite), Spanish, spelling, science, social studies, health, government, psychology, speech, geography, history, and computers. My services are targeted at grades K-12 but may include some 100-level college courses upon request.

I look forward to working with you! :)

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $30.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Journalism - still in school
School: Purdue University Calumet - still attending
Teacher Certification: No