Location: Westlake Village CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Middle School Math

Jacob S. of Westlake Village CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Jacob S.
Gender: Male   Age: 18-21
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Hello! My name is Jake, and I'm a college student with a love for passing on whatever knowledge I can to others.
I believe in explaining the how, and not just the why. It is my goal when I tutor to help students understand concepts at a fundamental level, because this is the key to truly grasping an academic concept. I am a very laid-back fellow, because students can accomplish more when they don't feel pressured. I aim to inspire excitement about learning. I love when I show up to a tutoring session and one of my students can't wait to pull out his or her books to tackle a new concept; and of course, there's nothing as satisfying as that look a student gets when light bulbs start going off, because they've truly understood something they were previously struggling with.
I've been tutoring for quite some time now. I've formally tutored for about a year now as a private, in-home tutor; but my experience extends way beyond this. I am the oldest of a multitude of brothers, sisters, and cousins, so I've always been the unofficial family tutor. Because of this, I'm capable of tutoring all age ranges. As long as the student is willing to try, then so am I.
An average student sees an improvement of a letter grade or more, if they stick with me. My skills are always sharp, because I have my own set of textbooks on the subjects I tutor. Because of these things, the decision to hire me is not one you will regret.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $25.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Other
Major: Business
School: California State University - Channel Islands
Awards I received an award from my high school for exceptional community service. I went above and beyond the required community service in helping remedial students at my school, as well as going out into the community and helping children at the Boys and Girls Club.
Teacher Certification: No