Location: oregon city OR USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Tammy J. of oregon city OR USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Tammy J.
Gender: Female   Age: 41-50
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have over thirty years experience in teaching and tutoring. I entered the teaching field in 1979. I began tutoring 8 years ago, after my own daughter was diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder.

In my years as a teacher I had seen many students struggle in the same manner as my daughter. I decided that it was time to leave the classroom and offer my services to students on a more individual level. I tutor children with all levels of learning differences. I am currently tutoring children with ADD/ADHD, speech apraxia, dyslexia, and sensory disorders.

I use a gentle and supportive approach to teaching, that is specifically tailored to the needs of each student. I provide children, in Grades k -7, with the academic tools needed to grasp the material in the classroom. I explain concepts in terms they can understand. I use manipulatives and sensory tools when appropriate. I care about the whole child and offer only positive feedback so the student can begin to feel good about himself and regain any self esteem that may have been lost in the academic learning process.

My hobbies are gardening and reading. I plant a big canning garden every summer and offer canning classes to anyone who is interested.

I was one of the oldest in a family of nine children. I am the aunt to 54 nephews and nieces, the grandmother to two beautiful granddaughters, and the mother of two daughters and one son. I currently homeschool my 14 year old daughter and my ten year old son.

If you are looking for a tutor with lots of experience and with a ton of patience then you have found her! Give me a call or drop me an email and we will get started right away.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $25.00 to $35.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented,Home Schooling,Learning Disabilities,Remedial
Educational Level: Bachelors
Teacher Certification: No