Location: Boca Raton FL USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, Literature, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Katie G. of Boca Raton FL USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Katie G.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

As an English/Writing tutor, I have...
-> Taught 8th grade English/Writing with the Breakthrough Collaborative
-> Tutored both privately and as a Writing FCAT tutor with Academic Concepts Tutoring (Boca)
-> Worked in my college Writing Center-- guiding and correcting the papers of graduate, undergraduate, and international students
-> Student-taught as an environmental educator

My SAT/AP scores...
SAT Writing: 740
SAT Verbal: 760
SAT Quantitative: 630
AP Language and Composition: 5
AP Literature: 5
AP Art History: 5
AP European History: 4
AP Psychology: 5
GRE Written: 5
GRE Quantitative: 660
GRE Verbal: 640

As an Environmental Education graduate student seeking teaching certification (English), I am passionate about both environmental pursuits and verbal/written communication. Sharing that passion with students of all ages, through both classroom teaching and one-on-one tutoring, has been an active pursuit of mine since high school.

I have studied literary subjects ranging from poetry to medieval literature, as well as modern European writers and literary theory. At Oxford I focused on Old English (Anglo-Saxon) literature and creative writing. I have also studied Theology at the graduate level, and pursue subjects ranging from science to mythology to history in my extra-curricular time. I have taken classes in debate and public communication, as well.

I am very willing to work with ADHD/ADD students, and any student whose work or focus benefits from individual attention. As I have personally had the benefit of experiencing private schooling, public schooling, home schooling, and even a semester overseas at Oxford University-- I understand the value of combining different teaching styles in original ways, in order to bring out the best in students of every learning style.

I have had experience working with a broad age-range (4th-9th) and an equally broad range of personalities and backgrounds. I love writing, and I love communicating: more than any single skill, it is the enjoyment of and confidence in communicating that I want my students to experience.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $30.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented, Home Schooling, Remedial
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: English
School: Wheaton College (IL)
Teacher Certification: No