Location: San Diego CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Ms Nia M. of San Diego CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Nia M.
Gender: Male   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Dear Neighbor,

Thank you for considering me as your Multiple Subject Tutor. I currently work as an English Tutor for San Diego City College and I am a proud member of the American Federation of Teachers. I also work as a Volunteer Biology Tutor at City College and a Volunteer Reading Tutor at Ocean Beach Elementary School. I recently earned an Associate of Arts Degree in Liberal Studies with an Emphasis in Elementary Education Graduating with High Honors, from San Diego City College and I am a member of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. I will be attending San Diego State University in the fall, where I intend to earn my BA in Liberal Studies and a Multiple Subject Teaching Credential. With two years of experience tutoring and three years of professional preparation and development courses, I am confident in my ability to become a valuable asset to your educational endeavors.

I have a passion for tutoring students of all ages to become more independent, confident and effective as readers, writers, critical thinkers and problem solvers. Over the past three years of study, I have learned about a wide range of teaching styles and methods, and I have had the opportunity to work with and observe a diverse population of students of varying intelligences and abilities from children to adults. As a result, I have developed instructional techniques and methods of tutoring which can be specifically customized to meet an individuals educational needs. I bring a guided approach to learning and encourage critical thinking while directing students attention to reaching established goals.

One of my greatest strengths as an educator is meeting each students unique needs by developing a personal understanding of him or her. I achieve this by assessing students as individuals and tailoring their tutoring experience to fit their specific level and skill. Furthermore, I incorporate a variety of object demonstrations and enjoyable experiences into lesson plans which reveal a direct connection between class work and daily life, and help to keep students motivated and interested.

I look forward to discussing with you the many ways which I can make a significant contribution to your education program. Thank you in advance for your time and consideration.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $10.00 to $25.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented, Home Schooling
Educational Level: Other
Major: Elementary Education
School: San Diego State University
Awards Associate of Arts in Liberal Studies with an Emphasis in Elementary Education with High Honors from San Diego City College, San Diego City College Deans Honor List 2009-2011, Member of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, Member of the American Federation of Teachers
Teacher Certification: No