Location: York PA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Foreign Language
Subjects: Latin, German

Stephen G. of York PA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Stephen G.
Gender: Male   Age: 51-65
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I provide instruction in classical Latin (or modern German) to distant students through Skype or Google Chat.
In Latin, I teach through a process of assimilation, the way people learn language as children. I begin with stories made of the very simplest sentences and gradually increase the grammatical complexity of the sentences as the vocabulary expands as well. This is in contrast to the traditional approach to Latin which begins by memorizing the complete first verb declension, then the complete first noun conjugation. I will be happy to work with the Cambridge or Ecce Romani series which are the good commercial ones, or to send my own materials free of charge.
The stories that I use in my readings differ from the traditional military/political ones or 'the twins visit the farm' sort of Ecce Romani. I use unusual events, mythology, and fairy tales.
I also supply crossword and matching puzzles for reinforcing vocabulary and grammar as opposed to the traditional exercises.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $30.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented,Home Schooling,Physical Disabilities,Learning Disabilities
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Education
School: Beloit College, University of Maryland
Awards Gold Key Society (Academic excellence - Beloit College
C. Ingersoll Morse Award (Scholarship in German - Beloit College)

Tutoring styles cont'd: In German, I've chosen the text Deutsch Aktuell but will help with homework in any others. In my own German instruction I use a lot of German Internet sites in order to facilitate an understanding of modern German language usage and culture. I have lived and worked in Heidenheim-an-der-Brenz in Schwabia (southern Germany.)
Teacher Certification: No