Location: San Diego CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Business Math, Calculus, Geometry, Middle School Math, Trigonometry

Sarah L. of San Diego CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Sarah L.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am patient and like to find creative ways of meeting individual learning styles. Of primary importance is that the student feels empowered and encouraged. I am in my second year of Waldorf teacher training and enjoy incorporating these techniques, as they are often very helpful in building competency. For example, we can march around the room saying times tables or manipulate piles of gemstones to practice division or subtraction. It is so nice to see students really enjoy learning and realize that they can do it in a way that feels like play. I can adjust the pace to meet the particular needs; some students like to take their time to build competency in a particular area, and others like to zoom ahead. With older students, we can just follow whatever the needs are in that area. I especially enjoy algebra and would be very happy to tutor in this area. It is also really fun to tutor girls, as I like to see girls succeeding in math.

I look forward to meeting you!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $20.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: Less than a year
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented, Home Schooling, Physical Disabilities, Learning Disabilities, Remedial
Educational Level: Masters
Major: music
School: San Francisco Conservatory of Music
Awards High school: 1520 SAT, 800 writing, valedictorian
College: Pomona College, Phi Beta Kappa, magna cum laude
Graduate school: San Francisco Conservatory
Waldorf teacher studies: 2nd year of 3 year training
Teacher Certification: No