Location: Tuxedo NY USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Geometry, Middle School Math

Miss Brianne M. of Tuxedo NY USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Miss Brianne M.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have spent the last several years preparing myself to teach through Lehighs five-year education program. This May, I earned a Masters of Elementary Education from Lehigh University after previously completing a Bachelors of Science in developmental psychology there. I have enjoyed many of the classes I have taken at Lehigh, but the ones that I enjoyed most discussed child development.
As part of the program, I taught as a pre-intern teacher in a third grade classroom during the fall of 2010. I was in the classroom for twenty five full days, twenty of which I spent teaching. Fifteen of those days I taught lessons I had prepared. While teaching, I thoroughly enjoyed reaching out to the students and watching them absorb new material. My experience at Cheston Elementary reinforced my desire to pursue a career in teaching. During the spring of 2011, I also taught in an elementary school classroom on a more full-time basis. I taught in a 1st grade classroom for a total of fourteen weeks. I created over 100 of my own lessons is all content areas, including math, science, reading, writing, and social studies. I also completed an action research project that I developed myself. Primarily, I focused on one particular students progress while I implemented individualized reading instruction. His reading level did, in fact, improve by the end of the 5-week intervention. I certainly learned a lot about implementing reading intervention as well as how significant individualized instruction is for such young students. This experience helped me discover more about myself as a teacher and more about how important it is to differentiate instruction for the students. I am very excited to expand upon my current knowledge and experience in the classroom.
In addition, I have volunteered as a tutor for the past three years. Two Saturdays a month, I meet with a middle school girl from a nearby middle school to help her with her schoolwork. I have enjoyed helping her and have learned a lot about how to combine fun with academia.
I am interested in teaching because, as a child, I always loved to learn both inside and outside of the classroom. I believe that children often look up to their teachers I know I did. I want to be a positive role model for the next generation of students. While I have parents who have supported me every step of the way, I hope to be a teacher and role model to those students who might not be so fortunate. As a teacher, I feel I can make a difference in students lives, whether at an academic level or at a personal level. I want to help the world become a better place one child at a time.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Elementary Education
School: Lehigh University
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher