Location: Lake Zurich IL USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Foreign Language
Subjects: ESL, German

Ms Anni T. of Lake Zurich IL USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Anni T.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

My knowledge of the German language and culture is both broad and deep. I have spent two and a half years living in Germany, including time spent as an exchange student with a host family, as an intern for Siemens VDO and as a university student living on my own. That time was divided between the parts of Germany formerly known as East and West Germany. Because of this, I understand what it means to live and work in Germany from many different aspects of the culture and am very fluent in the language. In addition, during my undergraduate studies I spent seven semesters living in the German House of the Foreign Language Student Residence at Brigham Young University. This experience allowed me to improve my own language skills by communicating with native speakers of German on a daily basis as well as assist others in the German House whose German was not as advanced as mine. Finally, I was able to study abroad in Namibia twice, gaining an understanding of the history of colonial German that only few American German teachers possess.
During my undergraduate studies, I completed all of the curriculum requirements for a degree in German teaching except for student teaching. The decision to drop the teaching portion of my degree was based mostly on health problems I was having at the time. I have a minor in Teaching English as a Second Language which added much to my understanding of language teaching methods prior to beginning my graduate studies. I have enjoyed teaching English to adults in Namibia, Russia and Germany. I also enjoyed co-teaching the German cultural preparation courses to fellow students as an employee of the International Studies Programs Office at Brigham Young University.Because of my love of German language and culture and my enjoyment of teaching language and culture to adults, I chose to pursue a Masters in Deutsch als Fremdsprache (teaching German as a Foreign Language) from the University of Leipzig. This degree is comprised of approximately 1/3 teaching methods, 1/3 German language and linguistics and 1/3 cultural studies. I was able to broaden my understanding of German teaching methods by learning from native experts in the field and collaborating with fellow students from around the globe. This gave me hands-on experience teaching the German language to adults and allowed me to practice implementing different strategies unique to learning the German language. I have taken advantage of many opportunities to obtain a unique understanding of German language and culture and love sharing this knowledge with others!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $25.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Teaching German as a Foreign Language
School: University of Leipzig
Teacher Certification: No