Location: Santa Rosa CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Geometry, Middle School Math, Trigonometry

Steven W. of Santa Rosa CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Steven W.
Gender: Male   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

My name is Steven, and I have recently graduated from UC Santa Cruz with a degree in Math, focusing on education. I now live in Santa Rosa, my hometown. I enjoy working with kids of any age, and have tutored students from elementary school to people my own age in college.

Through the years I found that most students come to dislike math for a variety of reasons: its hard, its boring, its pointless, etc. (There are actually a few things I cant really argue with) However, many kids do not realize that to graduate college there is almost always some kind of math requirement, and of course everyone knows that it is absolutely required in order to get middle and high school. Basically, you gotta do it, but there are many more reasons than just that.

What I am saying may sound strange to you; a math tutor talking down on math, but really all I am trying to get across is that I understand where you may be coming from. There were many things in school that I did not enjoy at the time. Dont get me wrong though either, because I know you might actually enjoy math, and are looking to better yourself, or maybe get a little extra help grasping some tougher concepts. If the latter is the case, then heres a fun fact: you are part of just 1% of the student population in the United States. Thats right, only about 1% of kids find math interesting/not difficult and think about pursuing it further in some way.

But listen, no matter what, I want to help you. I tutor because I like helping others, and it is always a great experience for me, as I may one day decide to become a teacher. I am told I explain things very well, and in fact this is always my main focus when tutoring. Through active discussion, the student and I should be able to figure out every little possible piece of information pertaining to any problem or exercise. While doing this, I am constantly trying to give meaning to whatever we are working on, as well as explore other solutions and other ways to approach things.

Besides this being an extremely important skill for the student, the truth is I do not know how every math teacher presents material, and I may see different ways of looking at something than how they initially explained it in class. Math from elementary to high school is all about arithmetic, and formulas, but also I like to throw in the all-important common sense factor. Ultimately, a successful student will be the one who not only follows taught procedures perfectly, but also comes up with their own after recognizing what needs to be done in any situation. This takes time, and extra practice, which is where I come in, if you think we might be a good fit. I look forward to helping any student that wants to learn.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $25.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Mathematics
School: UC Santa Cruz
Teacher Certification: No