Location: Seattle WA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Geometry, Middle School Math

Rachel D. of Seattle WA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Rachel D.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have a strong academic and real-world background and am skilled at gauging a students emotional openness toward a particular topic. In my psychology coursework, I have concentrated on educational psychology and wish to work with children and young adults after I'm done with graduate school.

I can easily identify both psychological and academic stumbling blocks and customize my tutoring approach to maximize success. I utilize developmentally appropriate exercises and math manipulatives to help my students construct their own understanding of concepts and solidify their number sense. This is particularly effective for students with learning differences.

I am a committed, fun and caring tutor!

I am also a professional artist and musician, and I can develop art workshops for groups or individuals.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School
Days Available: Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $45.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups: Home Schooling, Learning Disabilities
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Psychology
School: Colorado College, Antioch University
Awards I also volunteer as a GED tutor at the Orion Center for homeless teens. The organization recently featured my profile in their newsletter for my contributions to the GED preparation program.

I graduated with a BA and distinctions from the Colorado College.

References available upon request.
Teacher Certification: No