Ms Alison R. of Apt 2C NY USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Alison R.
Gender: Male   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I'm a graduate of Harvard University who has been tutoring and classroom teaching at some of the top test prep firms in Manhattan for five years. I tutor the SAT, ACT, PSAT, GMAT, SSAT, ISEE, SHSAT, SAT IIs, Hunter Exam, and several academic subjects. I'm also an experienced essay editor who has helped countless young people preen college and personal essays. I'm very warm and enthusiastic, but I also have no problem laying down the law. I cater my teaching style to the student I'm dealing with - being firm with those that need it and being more relaxed with those who work better that way. I also make a point of keeping communication between me and parents wide open. Communication is key. I keep parents abreast of how their student is doing, whether they're completing the work, and what expectations are reasonable. I find this is the greatest tool in leaving all parties satisfied with the tutor-tutee relationship. Finally I'd just like to say I love tutoring. It's wonderful to spend an hour or ninety minutes helping a young person realize how truly smart they are. I hope to work with you next!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $60.00 to $100.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Literature
School: Harvard University
Teacher Certification: No