Location: Champaign IL USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Grammar

Becky M. of Champaign IL USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Becky M.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I obtained an M.A. in Teaching in 2008 out of a desire to pursue a more meaningful career that could make a direct difference in the lives of others. I completed my student teaching for the M.A.T. program in a 2nd grade classroom. After graduating, I spent the summer of 2008 tutoring a 3rd grade student in reading, writing, and mathematics. I then spent eight months in South Korea teaching English full-time in an elementary school, including 3rd through 6th grade regular classes, two after school classes, an advanced class, summer and winter English camps, and conversational English classes for my Korean co-teachers. On my return the the States, I continued to teach ESL part-time to adult English learners for over a year through Kankakee Community College. I am currently taking classes at the University of Illinois to add an ESL endorsement to my teaching certification, and I plan on entering the MATESOL program officially next fall.

My teaching style tends to be positive, encouraging, and enthusiastic. I enjoy finding ways to make learning relevant, interesting, and engaging to both my students and myself.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: Less than a year
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Teaching
School: Olivet Nazarene University
Teacher Certification: No