Location: St Peters MO USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Reading Comprehension, Reading, Phonics, Grammar, Basic English

Ms Becky D. of St Peters MO USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Becky D.
Gender: Female   Age: 41-50
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

With 20 years of classroom teaching experience, 29 years of tutoring experience and a Master's Degree in Elementary Educaton/Reading, I have the expertise to help you reach your potential. I began tutoring before I started my college studies in education. I have tutored Reading and Reading Comprehension, Math through Algebra, World History, Science, Study Skills and Music. I have also helped with Homework. When not tutoring, I am an Adjunct Instructor at Southwestern Illinois College in the Business Division.

When teaching reading, I use a multi-pronged approach. It has been my experience that unless a child picks up reading quickly, they begin to dislike the subject and any further attempts at teaching the subject makes the situation worse. Therefore, a major part of reading instruction should always include reading for pleasure. The material used is either chosen by the student or based on their interests and is generally approximately a year below their actual reading level. This has several purposes. First, because the student is involved in choosing the material, they have more of an incentive to read. Second, because the material is below their reading level, they do not experience the frustration they have come to associate with reading and they can enjoy the act of reading. Third, pleasure reading serves as reinforcement to all other teaching. You can expect that I will request that the student do reading outside of the lesson. This will often be pleasure reading, although it may also be reading we will use in another lesson. In addition to pleasure reading, it is important for the reader to learn about print as well as learn a variety of strategies to decode words. I teach individual letter sounds, multi-letter sounds, and how to combine them. It is also important for the reader to have a reading vocabulary. These are the words that are commonly referred to as �Word Wall Words� or �Sight Words�. Finally, learning how to decode words using context clues needs to be taught. This includes looking at pictures, deciding if a given word makes sense within a sentence and using text meaning to determine unknown words.

Math seems difficult to many young people. I teach math as concretely as possible. Rather than just relying on memorizing rules to accomplish tasks, I teach "why". I feel true understanding comes about with "number sense". For example, when adding numbers together we will practice with manipulatives to see how the two parts make a whole. When doing algebra, it is equally helpful to practice with manipulatives for understanding of what the equations really mean. There is rarely only one possible way to correctly find a solution to a problem. Therefore, whenever appropriate, I demonstrate multiple methods of finding the solution then allow the student to try them and decide which makes the most sense. Once the student has a firm grasp of the basics, I encourage the student to experiment to find their own paths to finding the solution to problems.

I am available to help with Home Schooling and Remedial Help. With Home Schooling, I can either follow your current curriculum and provide help in subjects already taught or, for an extra fee, I can help you with curriculum development.

Because I want you to feel confident in me as your tutor, I offer a FREE first lesson. This gives us an opportunity to get to know one another and to determine if I am the right tutor for you. During this first lesson I will also do some diagnostic testing to determine strengths and weaknesses. I then use the information gathered from the testing to develop objectives which will be the main skills and concepts that will be taught. Using the objectives, I will create goals before each lesson. These are the specific skills and concepts we will work on for the lesson. Then, using the goals, I will develop a lesson plan for every lesson that describes the methods I will use to help the student achieve these goals.

In addition to the free first lesson, the following services are included in my hourly fee: Phone Help (for every one hour of lesson time, you are entitled to an additional 30 minutes of phone help), Communication with Teachers (if desired and appropriate, I will communicate with the student's teachers), Communication with You (after every lesson I will give you brief oral feedback and then, if an e-mail address is provided, give you detailed feedback within 24 hours), One hour of driving time (I will drive up to 30 minutes to your location and 30 minutes back to my home), Web Site (The student will have access to their own account at Quia where they will have personalized activities), Lesson Plans (Lesson Plans are prepared for every lesson to assure that conditions are maximized for learning).

My current FACE-TO-FACE availability:
MONDAYS: in Belleville and surrounding areas
TUESDAYS: morning in Granite City and surrounding areas;
evenings in Belleville and surrounding areas
WEDNESDAYS: in Belleville and surrounding areas
THURSDAYS: mornings in Granite City and surrounding areas;
afternoons in Granite City and surrounding AND
North St. Louis County
FRIDAYS: mornings in Belleville and surrounding areas;
evenings in Alton, Edwardsville and surrounding
SUNDAYS: mornings in Belleville and surrounding areas;
evenings in Belleville and surrounding areas


My hourly rate for face-to-face lessons is $40/hour M-F ($35/hour on Sunday) plus my hourly rate for all driving time over one hour. My rate for online lessons is $30/hour.

I'm looking forward to hearing from you soon so we schedule our first lesson!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $70.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Elementary Education/Reading
School: Southern Illinois University
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher