Location: New Orleans LA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Grammar, Literature, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Jamie M. of New Orleans LA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Jamie M.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am an experienced and highly qualified ESL teacher. I have a 150-hour certificate in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) from the English Training Centre in London. I have taught multiple levels of ESL to adults and young adults. Over the last 10 years, I have worked directly with over 200 adults and young adults of all levels, on conversational and survival English as well as test prep. I worked for the Cambridge School in Peja, Kosovo for six months preparing UN translators for TOEFL certification--which everyone in the class received. I most recently worked for four years teaching English to newly-arrived immigrant adults in New Orleans. My students have consistently achieved their goals, including passing the TOEFL, US citizenship exams, improving their position at work, or beginning GED and University studies in English.

I have a bachelor's degree in Humanities from New College of Florida and I am currently studying Linguistics as a grad student at Tulane University. I am fluent in Spanish and conversational in Portuguese. My own language learning experience informs my teaching strategies. I use the Communicative Approach: vocabulary and grammar are best learned in context through meaningful conversations, even at the beginner level. My students learn strategies for expressing themselves, getting information and exploring their interests in the target language. As a teacher, I am both patient and dynamic: students generally find me entertaining, relaxed and easy to work with. I am very clear in explaining the subject matter, and I am skilled at finding creative ways to practice the material in a relevant context. I enjoy teaching and become very invested in my students' success: I deeply believe that every student has an innate and limitless capacity for learning.

Although I have the most experience with English language teaching, I have also taught GED subjects in both English and Spanish. I am very comfortable assisting with writing skills--finding a paper topic, making an outline, fleshing out ideas--with reading fluency and with basic math, geometry and pre-algebra up to the GED level. Most of my experience has been with adults, teenagers and older children, though I have worked with younger kids as well, as a community center tutor, ESL teacher and elementary classroom room volunteer.

I would be happy to discuss your individual educational goals and help you determine the best strategy for achieving academic success!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Middle School, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Linguistics
School: Tulane University
Awards Under my leadership, St. Anna's ESL program received the 2008 Non-profit Innovator of the Year Award for its success in teaching students from a diverse array of backgrounds.
Teacher Certification: No