Location: Harrison Township MI USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Social Science
Subjects: History, Political Science

Ms Roxanne B. of Harrison Township MI USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Roxanne B.
Gender: Male   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Hello, parents and prospective students--it's wonderful to (virtually) meet you!

My name is Roxanne, and I live in Macomb County, Michigan. I have a lifelong passion, enthusiasm and deep interest in studies in the fields of government, history, social studies, political science, and public policy that began in my teenage years, when I began studying these areas on my own (as an hour daily in school wasn't enough!). I've since earned three degrees with high distinction in the field: a masters in Public Policy from the University of Michigan-Dearborn in 2011 (GPA: 3.87/4.00), a masters in Political Science from the University of Windsor in Ontario (GPA: 3.66/4.0), and a bachelors in Political Science from Western Michigan University in 2006 (GPA: 3.85/4.00). I've completed coursework in a range of areas (and research and analysis projects in several), including government and civics, political approaches and research methodology, international relations, foreign policy, political theory, cost-benefit analysis, program evaluation, and public economics, among several others!

Beyond the classroom, I've gained hands-on experience in these areas in several positions. In 2006 I completed an internship at the Michigan State Senate, during which time I created and implemented a federally-funded child nutrition program in Macomb County, and gained practical experience researching an array of state policy issues and presenting my findings to the senator for whom I interned. I've also worked as a Research Assistant and a Graduate Assistant in political science, during which time I edited two textbook manuscripts, assisted professors with course-related duties, graded undergraduate essays, and worked with students one-on-one to help them understand course material.

In addition to these experiences, I have volunteered as a tutor of women working to earn their GED at the Mercy Education Project in Detroit, and currently mentor underserved youth through ICouldBe.org, which entails assisting them in exploring their career interests, helping them prepare to attend college, and coaching them in developing various forms of personal and professional expression. I very much enjoy working with young people, and pride myself on being a friendly, warm, personable, engaging and relatable person.

I approach my method with the recognition that each student learns in a different way. After a personal review of the content and format of the student's course material and assignments, I will work with him or her in reviewing the material, asking questions to gain an initial understanding of his or her cognitive approach. As we work together, I will look for patterns and employ other techniques to form a deeper understanding of how the material needs to be presented, discussed and reviewed to be more consumable. Accordingly, I will proactively reframe the material and present interesting, creative ways of thinking about it, engaging the student in a fun and holistic way as we work out problems together. As we continue, I will draw parallels with prior lessons and with familiar, real-world examples to bridge the unfamiliar with the known. Intermittently throughout this process, I will ask the student to complete problems on his or her own, providing positive, encouraging feedback and celebrating his or her successes. This approach aims to attenuate anxiety and deconstruct the mental barriers that are often present in learning difficult material, while providing a method of instruction tailored to the student's individual style and needs. Throughout my time as a tutor, I will remain a flexible, hard-working, and dedicated partner in learning for the student, making a genuine investment in their academic success and educational fulfillment!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $25.00 to $35.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: Less than a year
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Master of Arts in Political Science and Master of Public Policy degrees
School: The University of Windsor and the University of Michigan-Dearborn
Awards - Phi Beta Kappa, Member, inducted 2006

- Mortar Board National Honor Society, former Chapter President at Western Michigan University, inducted 2005

- Golden Key International Honour Society, former Chapter Vice-President at Western Michigan University, inducted 2004
Teacher Certification: No