Location: Madison WI USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Business Math, Calculus, Geometry, Middle School Math, Trigonometry

Chris C. of Madison WI USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Chris C.
Gender: Male   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

My approach to mathematics is very visual and applied. When I approach a new topic or challenging problem, the first thing I attempt is to build a model of the problem that will help me understand the problem better. When this is not the best approach, I build concrete metaphors, devise applications, or draw graphs and pictures to help me wrap my head around the problem.

I volunteered in the math tutoring center as an undergrad, helping with first year calculus. Through doing so, I became comfortable explaining complex concepts to a wide range of student audiences.

In my graduate coursework, I often take it upon myself to learn the material quickly so I can help my classmatess. I always work to explain, illuminate, and clarify rather than giving away the solution, and don't shy away from breaking something down to its components in the service of helping others understand.

I'd like to emphasize that my education and my current research has consistently required the use of fairly sophisticated mathematics and statistics, and I enjoy this aspect of what I do. I hope that I not only convey knowledge of mathematics to my students, but also some of my interest and passion for these topics. I hope that after working with me, my students will see something in these topics they did not see before, which will in turn help them succeed.

As a final note, which may at first seem unrelated, I spent much of my life training in martial arts. My high school and early college job was to teach students of all ages (literally from 8 to 60 years old) and all levels of skill, including students with special needs. While martial arts and arithmetic are quite different, I know that I have a passion for teaching, and I have experienced the particular pleasures and challenges of working with students of many ages and varied backgrounds.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $30.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Cognitive Psychology
School: University of Wisconsin - Madison
Awards I am a PhD student doing research in cognitive neuroscience at UW-Madison. I successfully defended my master's thesis in the Fall of 2011. I earned my undergraduate degree at DePaul University in Chicago where I majored in cognitive psychology and economics, and minored in math (graduated from honors program magna cum laude).

I have presented my work at several professional conferences around the country.
Teacher Certification: No