Location: Buxton ME USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Foreign Language
Subjects: German

Susan E. of Buxton ME USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Susan E.
Gender: Male   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I began tutoring fellow college students in my senior year at Smith College. During my graduate studies, I independently taught beginning and intermediate German to university students. After completing my Master's Degree, I taught German at the Boston School of Modern Languages. During the 17 years that I lived and worked in Germany, I taught Business English to German and Spanish Executives for five years, as well as General English to German elementary school students. Upon returning to the US in 2008, I taught German evening classes for an adult ed program. Presently, I teach German to elementary school students with various diagnoses (autism, ADD, ADHD, PTSD, Schizophrenia) and other behavioral challenges.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $35.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented, Home Schooling, Physical Disabilities, Learning Disabilities, Remedial
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Germanic Languages and Literature
School: Tufts University
Awards While at Smith College, I made the Dean's List the entire four years and the President's List (straight A's) during my senior year (taking German, French, Latin and Middle English). I also graduated Phi Beta Kappa. During my Junior Year Abroad (a Smith College program), I was chosen as the best German speaker in the program.
Teacher Certification: No