Nicole S. of Rochester NY USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Nicole S.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I began tutoring when I was an undergraduate student at Florida State University. In college, I majored in Biology and minored in Economics, Chemistry, and Math. I was a TA for biology classes, including biology 1 and biology 2. There were between 200 and 250 students in these classes, but I worked with students on a 1 on 1 basis during my office hours.

I completed the first two years of medical school at Stony Brook and am currently taking time off school for personal reasons. I was in a near-fatal car accident and am in the process of recuperating. I am either going to finish my MD or get my PhD and teach/conduct research.

The students that I have worked with have been very satisfied with our results and have seen a substantial increase in their grades. I am good at explaining tricky concepts in a way that is easy to understand and easy to remember.

I can help with general college or high school math and science course work. homework, and test preparation. I enjoy working with people of all ages, from children to college students. I have the most experience tutoring college and high school students but am more that happy to work with children as well. My schedule is flexible and I have reliable transportation.

I can also help with standardized examination preparation such as MCAT and college entrance exams such as the SAT and ACT, particularly in the areas of science and math.I am a good test taker and will pass my strategies and tricks down to you. I have taken numerous standardized tests. I took the ACT and SAT in high school and got a 34 and a 1260, respectively. My SAT Math score was a 670 and my verbal score was a 590. I took the Medical College Admissions Test (MCAT) in 2005 and received a 30 with an R in writing (ranges from a low of J to a high of T). At that time, the average score was a 24.
I also took the USMLE Step 1 board examination on June 24, 2010 and received a 230/99. The average score for US medical students is a 220.

I am open to discussing payment arrangements and discounted rates for students that cannot afford to pay full price.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Middle School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $35.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Biology
School: Florida State University
Teacher Certification: No