Location: Denver CO USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Reading

Marisa F. of Denver CO USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Marisa F.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I received my teaching certification and master's degree from the University of Denver. I've been teaching for 3 years in public and private schools. I specialize in reading intervention and have experience working with kids who are behind in reading and math. Working with students 1 on 1 is a rarity in the classroom; which is why I enjoy tutoring. My philosophy is that results come from a caring, respectful relationship between my students and I along with purposeful, intensive instruction on my part. I will start by assessing what kind of reader or mathematician the student is and follow up by gathering the proper instructional materials. Last, I will plan each tutoring session based on the student's needs, mixing instruction just at his level of ability and instruction a little above his level to ensure maximum growth.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $35.00 to $50.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Elementary Education
School: University of Denver
Awards Boettcher Teaching Fellow 2010-2011
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher