Location: Cuyahoga Falls OH USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Writing, Reading Comprehension, Reading, Literature, Grammar, ESL: English as a Second Language, Basic English

Ronald S. of Cuyahoga Falls OH USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ronald S.
Gender: Male   Age: 51-65
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have spent four great years In China teaching almost all aspects of English; oral, written, reading, comprehension and creative writing, plus a course on American culture. Along with that I taught, of all things, golf...yes, golf.

My teaching experience in America has been in Oral Communication, Speech, Theater, Television Production, Drawing and Voice for Broadcast.

Oral English is my specialty. I have been professionally trained to speak and teach perfect Standard American English. That's what I speak and that's what I teach.

I have a Master of Fine Arts degree from the University of California and a Bachelor of Arts degree from San Francisco State University. I have a diploma in TEFL/TESL and am certified in English grammar.

With fourteen years of university teaching, I think you'll agree I must love it. I don't think of you as challenges, but as a partner. Education is and adventure, an exploration; not a struggle or a burden. Learning is just a hoot.

I believe in letting you DO as much as you can, as often as you can. If we're working on conversation, you do the talking. I'm there to listen and teach. When we write, you do the writing...I just help you learn how.

I have tons of materials to help you. They aren't all games and puzzles. I expect you to work and be dedicated to learning. I will challenge you every day. You will receive homework and I expect it to be done. I take ESL/EFL seriously...you should as well, or you will never learn.

I am very excited my language with you. I'm sitting here waiting, I hope you don't.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Home Schooling
Educational Level: Ph.D.
Major: Theater with a minor in Art and Design
School: University of California at Davis
Awards I hold a Master of Fine Arts degree, to be distinguished from a Masters degree. I studied for two extra years to attain that higher honor.

An MFA is a terminal degree and is often referred to as a Practicum PhD.

In graduate school I was nominated for the Irene Ryan Award twice.

My Grade Point Average was 4.0.

During my four years of university study I was on the Deans� List seven times.

At San Francisco State I received the Chancellors Scholarship Award.

As a Theater major, I was voted �Best Actor of the Year� in both my Freshman and Sophomore years.
Teacher Certification: No