Location: Kew Gardens NY USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Foreign Language
Subjects: Latin

Ms Alexandra K. of Kew Gardens NY USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Alexandra K.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I hope to pursue a career in teaching upon completion of my degree. I strongly believe that every student, regardless of learning style, can achieve stellar results with the right instruction and encouragement. I am dyslexic and, over the course of my academic career, I have mastered the study skills and academic strategies that best fit my needs.

Because of my personal experience, I am able to work with students to discover what study skills and organizational techniques will be most helpful to them. From there, I work on the specific subject in which the student needs attention. I specialize in Latin, English, History, Social Studies and Writing.

I worked as a teacher's aide at Capital City Charter School in Washington DC for a summer enrichment program. During my time at Capital City Charter School many of my students had learning disabilities and differences. I learned to tailor classroom activities and lesson plans to students' individual needs.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $20.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented, Learning Disabilities
Educational Level: Masters
Major: History
School: The New School For Social Research
Awards I graduated Summa Cum Laude from Tufts University with a BA in Classics in 2011. I was awarded the William Frank Wyatt and John W. & Katherine L. Zarker awards for excellence in the translation of Latin as an undergraduate at Tufts University.

I am currently pursing my MA in History at the New School for Social Research where I have earned a 4.0 GPA.

AP Latin Virgil: 5
AP Latin Catullus/Ovid: 4
Teacher Certification: No