Location: Richmond VA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Calculus, Geometry, Middle School Math, Trigonometry

Ms Himashi A. of Richmond VA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Himashi A.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am a full-time Private Academic Instructor with over 11 years of tutoring experience in various subject areas such as Math, Science, and Foreign Language while working with children, teens, and adults ranging from elementary school, high school, college and beyond. I enjoy working with students not just in the subject areas that they struggle, but also ensure they have a firm understanding of the fundamentals they need in order to succeed in their classes now and in the future.

I am a highly reviewed tutor as you can also find me on universitytutor. I work closely with my students to find out what works best for them as well as prepare supplemental material that will help focus your studying. In turn allowing you to actually spend less time studying!

I find it important to identify areas of weakness in the student's knowledge of material and study skills to help the student progress, now and in the future. Over several years, I have obtained an immense working knowledge of students in academic environments and find it easy to interact with people of diverse backgrounds and ages.

I started tutoring in high school and I attended high school in Northern Virginia and graduated with the AP Diploma. During high school my classes were heavily science and math based.

Classes relevant to my current experience include: AP Biology, AP Calculus BC, AP Spanish, AP Psychology, & all honors math and science courses. During high school I tutored and was available to help in nearly every science and math class including classes I was currently enrolled in at the time. I tutor in all subjects except history for grades K-12 as well as collegiate level Calculus I & II in addition to Biology & Chemistry. Also, I am proficient in Spanish and can assist with tutoring students who are taking beginning & intermediate level classes currently (Through high school level Spanish 3/4 as well as the first three semesters of college Spanish)

Thus far, through this site I have tutored over 30 different students through this site and have positive results!

I worked as a Lab TA for Organic Chemistry II Lab at Virginia Commonwealth University (Spring 2008 Semester)

As a Biology Major:
General Biology I & II, General Biology I & II Lab, Cell Biology, Genetics & Lab, Ornithology, Vertebrate Natural History & Lab, Ecology, Plant Development, Biotechniques Lab, & Biomedical Research

As a Chemistry Major:
General Chemistry I & II, Organic Chemistry I & II, General Chemistry I & II Lab, Organic Chemistry I & II Lab, Quantitative Analysis, Quantitative Analysis Lab, Physical Chemistry I & II, Physical Chemistry I Lab, Biochemistry I & II, Medicinal Chemistry & Drug Design, Inorganic Chemistry

General Education Studies:
Calculus & Analytic Geometry I & II & Calculus-based Physics I & II

As a Biochemistry Post-Baccalaureate:
Graduate Mammalian Physiology, Molecular Biology of Cancer, Cellular & Molecular Physiology, Advanced Animal & Plant Biology, Biochemistry: Cell and Molecular Biology 1 & 2

As a tutor I possess excellent critical thinking, analytical, problem solving, organizational, and communications skills which I also try to instill in the student. All in which assist in assessing and make recommendations for the student.

I look forward to hearing from you and getting the chance to help you succeed and surpass your expectations for the class!

**Proven history of delivering one-on-one service focused on learning and skills development

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Middle School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $70.00 to $90.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented,Home Schooling,Remedial
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Chemistry & Biology
School: Virginia Commonwealth University
Teacher Certification: No