Elizabeth H. of Chatham NJ USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Elizabeth H.
Gender: Female   Age: 18-21
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I tutored in High School via the school Key Club (this was unpaid) and on my own. I have also been a certified Red Cross babysitter since I was 11 yrs old. I have also tutored both male and females. I have worked on just getting homework accomplished to improving on general skills as well as study habits.

I am now back from college as I graduated a year early from the George Washington University with a B. A. in Art History and Archaeology with a Minor in Film Studies. I specialize in Language arts History or Social Studies, and Spanish (I am fluent). I have no immediate plans to go into education however, I have always loved tutoring. I also try keep in weekly contact with teachers to see how your child is progressing with my tutelage. This also helps in learning what I can do to change my methods in order to better serve your student. If you are in the Chatham area, I went through the school system, starting at Washington Avenue through Chatham High School graduating in 2009. I am familiar with most of the teachers and love to share my own stories with my students; I feel this helps in getting them to be more comfortable with me. I am willing to bring extra work (in the form of workbooks) to supplement your child's needs as well.

I am friendly, passionate, and patient. I believe that no child learns the same way and I look forward to meeting with your unique young student!

A Typical Day with Me:

-A typical session for me lasts between 1 and 1/2 hours-2 hours

-An agenda check; to see the weeks assignments

-We work on getting the daily homework done. This is done on a basis of importance and due date. I expect that the student does the assignment independently first then I review it and work out their mistakes

-Activities to work on the skills that need improvement

-Preparing or studying for the tests; this might take precedence over homework. This could also be used as a time to work on a major project and prepare its presentation.

-I am a huge fan of extra credit that could help develop these skills outside of homework and encourage teachers to send that home with the students. (this is case by case)

-I want the student to feel comfortable with me so often at the end of the session I let them draw, color, play a game to reward them for hard work it also gives them a chance to talk about things that they find important outside of school work.

For extra session time outside of the weekly or biweekly meeting I am willing to Skype.

I am also an avid painter and drawer if your child needs help with art or art projects in any way, although not listed in my subjects, I can most certainly help with Art Class Work.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $45.00 to $50.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups: Learning Disabilities
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Art History/Archaeology
School: The George Washington University
Teacher Certification: No