Mr Juan S. of Valley Stream NY USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mr Juan S.
Gender: Male   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am a graduate of the University at Buffalo who has been tutoring with various different agencies and have experience with private 1 on 1 at home tutoring for at least six years. I tutor the SAT, ACT, PSAT and several academic subjects. I'm very warm and enthusiastic, but I also have no problem laying down the law. I cater my teaching style to the student I'm dealing with - being firm with those that need it and being more relaxed with those who work better that way. I also make a point of keeping communication between me and parents wide open. Communication is key. I keep parents abreast of how their student is doing, whether they're completing the work, and what expectations are reasonable. I use specific tools such as pre-tests, mid-way review and posts test, which help me asses and keep track of the students progress. I find this is the greatest tool in leaving all parties satisfied with the tutor-tutee relationship. Finally I'd just like to say it's wonderful to spend an hour or two helping a young person realize how truly smart they are. I look forward to working with you next!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $40.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Political Science
School: University at Buffalo
Awards
Teacher Certification: No