Location: Waxahachie TX USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading, Special Education
Subjects: Hearing Impaired, ADD-ADHD, Writing, Reading Comprehension, Reading, Phonics, Grammar, Basic English, Learning Disabled

Jeanette H. of Waxahachie TX USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Jeanette H.
Gender: Female   Age: 51-65
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have worked many years in a Special Education self-contained classroom teaching students in both small group and individual sessions. Each student's needs were evaluated and the focus of their learning was based on individual need. Most of the time, I developed their education plans and goals myself and maintained lesson plans that were turned in to administrators. Each student had a work sample folder so that their parents could see their progress. Hands-on lessons worked better than simple lecture or worksheets. If a student didn't understand a concept, they were taught over again until they grasped the concept. Our students worked not only on academic skills, but also on communication, vocational, and social skills.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: Less than a year
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Education of the Hearing Impaired
School: Texas Women's University
Awards I have taken snd received certificates of completion in ADHD, Asperger Syndrome, Autism, Picture Exchange system, Picture Communication, and IEP development.
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher