Location: belmont MA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Writing, Reading Comprehension, Reading, Phonics, Grammar, ESL: English as a Second Language, Basic English

rosie s. of belmont MA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: rosie s.
Gender: Female   Age: 51-65
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

By establishing a trust between myself and my student, I can allow the student to risk sharing what is not understood or difficult. He/She can then be open to the enjoyment in learning. Self esteem automatically increases with me as I make sure they succeed, step by step.
My style is lighthearted yet goal directed.
I have tutored English as a Second Language for K-5 and adults. I am a Certified ELL teacher, elementary and high school. I have tutored reading and comprehension strategies for years from K-12. I recently tutored a boy from 7th -12th grade in Reading Literature and Writing. His English scores were 40%'s in 7th grade. He graduated in National Honor Society and is in Sophomore year at U.Miami at the Architecture School,on the Dean's List! I am strong in Reading Readiness and phonics K-2. I have tutored 3rd-5th graders in reading comprehension and writing. I can tutor math K-5th grade. I have begun to tutor for the PSAT and SAT also.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $85.00 to $90.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Curriculum Development
School: U.of Pittsbugh/Antioch University
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher