International Tutor outside USA

Location: Houston TX USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Middle School Math, Business Math, Basic Math, Algebra

Mr Allan L. of Houston TX USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mr Allan L.
Gender: Male   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I previously worked as a supplemental instruction leader (similar to a teaching assistant) of economics at Texas A&M University for over 2 years. I led group sessions of students struggling with their macro/microeconomics coursework. From topics such as calculating GDP (gross domestic product) to identifying the differences between an oligopoly and a monopoly, I had students that were previously making D's and C's to making A's on their exams. One of the most thoughtful comments that I received came from a student who said, "You're one of the few SI (supplemental instruction) leaders that actually care." I have expanded on my skills by continuing to provide private macroeconomics and microeconomics tutoring services.

I am also thankful for the opportunity to work as an algebra 1 summer teacher for an organization called Breakthrough Collaborative in Austin. The summer experience enabled me to design creative lessons on topics such as polynomials, exponents, and functions. My students can attest that I made learning math more enjoyable. When assessment time came around, many of my students increased their scores from the beginning of the summer by over 50%!

I have some experience providing in-home mathematics tutoring sessions. I patiently worked with a student who struggled with ADHD and Tourette Syndrome to try to improve her grades in Algebra 1. After spending over 2 months with her, I noticed a dramatic increase in her ability to comprehend concepts such as calculating the slope from standard form and solving multi-step equations.

Don't you deserve a dedicated, understanding tutor who is willing to help you succeed? That's where I come in. I understand that everyone has a different style of learning so I always try to tailor my tutoring to the individual needs of the student. Combined with my extensive teaching/tutoring experience, I am prepared to help you with what it takes to get that A!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $45.00 to $70.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Business Honors & Management
School: Texas A&M University
Awards Foundation and University Honors (36+ hours of honors coursework)
Magna Cum Laude graduate
Who's Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges
Teacher Certification: No