Location: Prosper TX USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Test Preparation
Subjects: TESOL, SAT, Other

Y. Marvin A. of Prosper TX USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Y. Marvin A.
Gender: Male   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am a certified teacher with over eleven years of experience teaching, leading teachers, and tutoring. I have served as an SAT tutor and an SAT coordinator. Also, I completed 21 hours of credit in Spanish at the University of Texas and have been studying and speaking Arabic for 14 years, having lived 8 years in the Middle East.

I began my tutoring career in university as a volunteer literacy coach for elementary students. I have been a career educator ever since graduating from the University of Texas with a triple major and special honors. I have also completed the University of Leicester's (UK) Postgraduate Diploma in Education Leadership. I am certified by the Texas State Board of Educator Certification in all major subject areas from Pre-K through Grade 12 and am pleased to have used those qualifications to help students at home in Texas and abroad, where I have spent most of my career working in international schools as a teacher, tutor, and educational leader. A believer in classical models of education, I focus on the needs of the individual student and take account of their learning style and subject preferences in promoting understanding of those subjects in which they struggle.

Currently, I tutor solely online as it provides a means for my family and I to travel the world. The virtual classroom I use provides seamless interaction between the tutor and student. We can interact on documents together, manipulate shapes and angles, write and solve math problems, and analyze stories in real time – together using audio, text, and an interactive whiteboard. This can be done with a tablet or desktop computer. All sessions are recorded and provided to you for student review, quality assurance, and safety monitoring.

As a leader of a television-free household, I am an avid reader of classic fiction, science fiction, and non-fiction in the form of investigative journalism, health, science, educational philosophy and practice, and self-improvement. I am a martial artist and enjoy the outdoors, camping at least biweekly with my family, which consists of my wife and three children. We are world travelers and have visited numerous countries and states in the U.S., Europe, Asia, Australia, and Africa.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $35.00 to $85.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Education Leadership
School: University Of Leicester
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher