Location: Lutz FL USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Middle School Math, Geometry, Business Math, Basic Math, Algebra

Dawn N. of Lutz FL USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Dawn N.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Hello! My name is Dawn, and I'm a full time professional tutor and Florida certified elementary - 12th grade math teacher with a passion for helping each and every student shine! I've discovered after many happy and successful years in the classroom that individual, one-on-one instruction meets the needs of students better than any jam-packed classroom. I've tutored 2nd graders through basic subtraction and grown adults studying for their SAT, ACT, and GRE tests. Each and every step along the way has been wonderful.

Most importantly, I know exactly what your child's math teacher is expecting. I can give your child the sort of individual attention they deserve, while paying special attention to their particular needs and learning styles. Lastly, I'm familiar with homeschooling methods and welcome home-schoolers with open arms.

Students learn by first glimpsing, then comprehending, then by doing and practicing. I love to be there each and every step of the way.

About Our Lessons

Homework help and test preparation are usually the first goals of tutoring, with additional time often spent catching up on weaker skills. For the younger ones (3rd - 6th grade) 90 minutes of tutoring once or twice a week is usually perfect, comprising about 30 minutes of homework help with around 60 minutes working on skills related to the current lesson. For older students (7th - 12th grade), 90 minute sessions twice a week are good, and the occasional two hour session can be really helpful. I am, of course, completely flexible and eager to help with exactly the sort of support that your child needs.

I know that with one-on-one tutoring a student can take the time to truly grasp new concepts. I love to learn the individual styles and habits of each and every student. Plus, in addition to guiding students to understand their current lessons I take time to teach them how to be better learners in class.

About Me

In addition to professional tutoring I'm also a US Navy Reserve officer and a Tampa native. I like to spend my free time at the beach with my family, kayaking, or reading.

I hope to hear from you soon!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $35.00 to $45.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Math, Finance, Political Science
School: University of South Florida, Troy State University
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher