Location: Burnsville NC USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Trigonometry, Middle School Math, Geometry, Basic Math, Algebra

Michele W. of Burnsville NC USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Michele W.
Gender: Female   Age: 51-65
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I've been tutoring since I was in Jr. High. I have a Ph.D. in Engineering, with a Minor in Math, and I have over 30 years of experience in applying math to real world problems. When I begin with a new student, I first do an assessment to begin to determine the gaps in their math knowledge and to find the habitual errors that they make when solving problems. I work with them to bring them back to grade level, using lots of drawings and examples, worksheets and flashcards, and lots and lots of encouragement. My goal is to hear a student who was struggling in math to one day tell me "I can do math!"

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Ph.D.
Major: Engineering, Math
School: University of Notre Dame, Florida Atlantic University
Awards I received 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 26 ratings when I worked under a national tutoring service.
Teacher Certification: No