Location: Los Angeles CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Science
Subjects: Physiology, Elementary Science, Earth Science, Chemistry, Biology, Astronomy, Anatomy

Amanda D. of Los Angeles CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Amanda D.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

My motto: Whether you are seven or seventy, you deserve to: be curious, ask questions, explore your natural world, make observations, challenge ideas, and be inspired!

I have my Masters in Secondary Science Education and my Bachelors in Biology. My degrees allowed for me to research the best educational practices. My teaching career further honed my understanding of teaching through educating very diverse groups of learners in a multitude of settings. I practice hands-on learning focused specifically on scientific inquiry. I assess student knowledge and scaffold their learning based off my assessment.

To me, a job well done would mean that my student is self-sufficient, confident in their subject area, has the tools and basic knowledge to help themselves, and no longer needs my service.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Biology, Secondary Science Education
School: Truman State University, University of Iowa
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher