Location: Virginia Beach VA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Test Preparation, Humanities, Home School, English and Reading
Subjects: Writing, Reading Comprehension, Reading, Literature, Grammar, Secondary Home Schooling, SAT, Other

Laura B. of Virginia Beach VA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Laura B.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

In addition to my previous experience as a high school English teacher, I have now been a professional writing tutor for over a year. This role has included tutoring for both high school and college students in all areas of writing and grammar. I have also done some private tutoring in test preparation. As a tutor, I think it's important to spend a little time finding out how each student learns best and tailoring the tutoring experience to fit that learning style. Just like in the classroom, there is no "one size fits all" in the tutoring domain. I also pride myself on being well-prepared for tutoring sessions, creating personalized lessons for each student based on his or her assignments, needs, and goals.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $30.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented,Home Schooling,Remedial
Educational Level: Masters
Major: English/ Education
School: William and Mary/ UVA
Teacher Certification: No