Location: Gaithersburg MD USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Science
Subjects: Elementary Science, Chemistry, Biology

Mrs Athithya G. of Gaithersburg MD USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mrs Athithya G.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Aim: My aim as a teacher is to create in my students a deep understanding and confidence in answering
exam questions and being able to tackle new and unfamiliar problems. I choose this career, because since
I was 8 years old I have been interested in become a teacher. Teaching is my passion and I am a concept
learner by nature, and I teach to the concept.
Education: I have a unique combination of strong academic skills and the ability to create a positive
difference on the educational goals of the students. I hold M.Sc. M.Phil. in Chemistry and B.Ed., from
India in first grade with distinction. “Course By Course” evaluated by ECE based on original documents
and earned US equivalent grade ‘A’ with 4.00/4.00 GPA.
Experience: I’ve been teaching students from preschool to higher secondary for over two years in a
variety of disciplines and classrooms. My experience has been that teaching has a unique value to
students because of the ability to resolve the students’ personal barriers to learning in a way that lays the
foundations for a deep and lasting understanding of the subject. Currently I am assisting students with
their Science, math reading and writing skills in "One Love 4 Kids" as tutor volunteer. Each individual,
class, age group, and subject area add to my expertise because I learn from all of them and apply what
I’ve learned to help myself and my students.
Teaching Style: I have the ability to see the unique strengths in each student and I usually focus on
exam-style or past paper questions in order to check, practice and perfect the student’s understanding and
technique. My teaching style varies depending on the student’s needs and learning style. However my
teaching philosophy is based on encouraging students to think for them, using real-world examples
wherever possible. I start from topics the students are comfortable with and move gradually towards more
complex areas as their confidence builds. I use questions and examples to check understanding
continually. I don’t lecture to students or ask them to memorize things.
Advice To Students: I believe in the limitless potential of all students. Even if there arise a situation,
when even God can't help you, all the hard work that you have put in will surely pay its price. So work
hard and think smart.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $45.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Chemistry
School: Periyar University,India
Awards Academic Achievements:
1) University 2nd rank holder in Undergraduate degreee.
2) University 4th rank holder in Master degree.
Career Achievements:
1) Received best class teacher award for obtaining 100 percent result for first year Pre-University class.
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher