Mr Derek J. of Plano TX USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mr Derek J.
Gender: Male   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I graduated from the University of Texas at Austin in 1994, where I earned
a Bachelor's degree in English. I earned Texas Teacher Certification the
same year in three subject areas: English, Mathematics, and Physical
I taught high school math for three years, then moved to Japan in order to
broaden my horizons and teaching experience. I lived and taught English
as a second language for two years in Japan. In October of 1999 I moved
back to the Dallas area, where I currently teach writing part-time and tutor
in the writing lab of a local community college. Over these past six years,
I have worked in both a classroom setting and in one-on-one tutoring
sessions. I have a broad background, have in-depth knowledge in all
certified fields, as well as having an encouraging attitude and a sense of

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented, Home Schooling
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: English
School: University of Texas at Austin
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher