TOBEY G. of Sherman Oaks CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: TOBEY G.
Gender: Female   Age: 41-50
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Currently I am tutoring at risk children throguh various Departments of Children's and Protective Services. First I evaluate the the child to obtain a baseline proficiency level and to get a picture of what needs require help.
I try to focus on the Whole child

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $45.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups: Home Schooling, Learning Disabilities, Remedial
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Philosophy, English
School: University of Colorado, Boulder
Awards I worked as a Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor for the Nebraska Department of Education, focusing on Special Education students. I created a program in Animal Care training at the Henry Doorly Zoo in Omaha, for my Educable Learning Disabled clients. I was active in the Greater Omaha Association of Retarded Children. After moving to Los Angeles, I volunteered as a teacher at Vista Del Mar, a group home for at-risk youth.
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher