Location: Framingham MA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Business Math, Calculus, Geometry, Middle School Math, Trigonometry

Mr Jerry S. of Framingham MA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mr Jerry S.
Gender: Male   Age: 51-65
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Tutoring Mathematics, Computer Science, Remedially and for Standardized Test Prep for 10 years (full-time).

Experience in H.S. Classrooms, as an MCAS instructor, Math teacher, and extensive coaching for PSAT, SAT I & II, ACT(Math & Science) GRE, GMAT, ISEE, SSAT (Quantitative sections for each).

I can explain Math concepts and problem solving in understandable terms. I instill confidence in students by peeling away the mystique of the mathematics and putting the student in control of the problem solving process.

I can teach all H.S. Math through Calculus BC, and regularly tutor students in these subjects. I also tutor selected College Math subjects.
I have a deep understanding of Mathematics
(BS, MIT/Math, MS, Harvard/Applied Math, (Ph.D, all but thesis).
I am able to recognize weak areas and effectively instruct students by demonstrating alternative ways for them to grasp the principles. I am creative, patient, non-judgmental, and connect with students, adapting my delivery to keep them engaged.

----- FOR SAT I AND II -----
I explain problem solving shortcuts that students do not encounter in the standard curriculum. I train students to recognize the gist of what a problem is testing, and how to select efficient methods to solve them. I demonstrate ways to estimate solutions, eliminate poor answer choices, and redraw diagrams so answers become obvious. I scored 800 on my SAT II, 800 on the GRE, and am expert on Math SAT and other standardized tests (ISEE, SSAT, HSPT, SAT I & II, MCAS, GRE, GMAT). I also help aspiring Math teachers prepare for all the Massacusetts MTEL licensing exams).

----- Background in Computer Science and Abstract Algebra

Initially educated as a Mathematician, I became a Software Developer (25+yrs). I am now in a second career as a Tutor.

------- I offer very flexible hours accommodating busy student schedules, and happy to utilize the internet for increasing speed of communications, or for distance learning. Lessons given at your home, or by arrangement.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Middle School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $60.00 to $70.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented,Remedial
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Applied Math
School: MIT, B.S. Math, HARVARD, M.S. Applied Math, Ph.D (all but thesis)
Awards Teaching Fellow at Harvard University
SAT II Math score 800, GRE Math score 800
Mass. Teaching Certification (Math, 8-12)(not active)
Teacher Certification: No