Location: Salem OR USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading, Humanities, Science
Subjects: ESL: English as a Second Language, Grammar, Phonics, Reading Comprehension, Writing, Statistics

Jennifer H. of Salem OR USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Jennifer H.
Gender: Female   Age: 41-50
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have a Level One College Tutoring Certificate and one year of experience tutoring adults in a community college group setting in Salem, Oregon. I have also tutored children and adults individually, which I prefer. While working at Chemeketa Community College Tutoring Center I was often selected from the pool of tutors to assist people with developmental difficulties, and people not proficient in the English languagethough I know no foreign languages. My patients, listening skills, empathy, and encouraging attitude were especially valuable in these instances.
My education includes several years of community college, one year at Willamette Univ. in Salem, Oregon, and two years at Oregon State Univ. Unfortunately, I was forced to drop out of school in the middle of my junior year do to a chronic pain condition that I am still having to deal with. It has been approximately four years since I was on a campus but I have been tutoring informally ever since.
Before I attended college I was a manufacturing supervisor for ten years and a customer service representative for two years with the same firm. While pursuing that career I attended many seminars, classes, and workshops which instructed in effective communication and dealing with difficult people or situations.

My proficiency includes in Mathematics (to calculus), Physics (thru sophomore college level), Writing, Literature, Philosophy, Geography, Astronomy, Cosmology, Anthropology, and History. I also am knowledgeable in Ecology, Religion, Women's Studies, & Chemistry (to sophomore college level), Personal Computing with Windows 98, MS Office Software, using the Internet, elementary PC hardware repair, circuit board soldering, and the use of Texas Instruments TI-85 graphing calculators. I have many years of experience using email and the Internet to communicate with other.
My expertise is the History of Science in general, with a deep understanding of the interconnectedness of historic events, the various ways that science has been practiced over the centuries, and I feel that I have a sound and broad acquaintance with many areas of science.

I have a fairly broad personal library containing both Popular works by authors such as Ferris, Hawking, Gould, Asimov, Boaz, Harris, Goodall, Hrdy, & Weinberg, as well as in-depth texts such as Fermis Thermo-Dynamics, and Kuhns The Structure of Scientific Revolutions. Drawing on the words of the best writers on a given subject, I believe, can be an effective tool in tutoring; especially lively and witty authors like Timothy Ferris. Also on my shelves are textbooks on everything from writing, literature, mathematics from elementary math to advanced calculus, most of the sciences, philosophy, womens studies, as well as dictionaries, biographies, and the Classics. I am not in the least ashamed to tell a student that I need to stop and look something up at any time.

My tutoring style is one that utilizes a coaching approach rather than a lecturing style. Developing sound study and learning skills, problem analysis, and self-confidence, I believe, are just as essential to a student as help with any particular problem or topic. Most importantly, tutoring should be about assisting the student to gain his or her own insights, without imparting an air of bias, sanctimony, pandering, or just providing the answers. Learning even the most demanding subjects need not be an onerous experience; acquainting the student with the tools of study and thought, as well as the fascination and enjoyment of a subject of study, are the goals of a really good tutor.

Being disabled, I have a wide-open and flexible schedule that I can adjust to any students needs. My time is my own and I am eager to be of service. I long to use my time and abilities to help others succeed in their studies and discover how captivating learning can be.

I would greatly appreciate an opportunity to use my knowledge and abilities to make an impact in the academic life of others!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $10.00 to $25.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Other
Major: Physics
School: Oregon State Univ
Awards
Teacher Certification: No