Location: Freehold NJ USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Business Math, Calculus, Geometry, Trigonometry

Michael A. of Freehold NJ USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Michael A.
Gender: Male   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have a B.A. in Mathematics from Rutgers University with a minor in Physics. I worked as a peer mentor for Calculus I and II at Rutgers. I have a love for mathematics, science, foreign languages, and the teaching of these topics. My style depends on the tutee. In all cases I try to relate to the student and see the problem from his/her perspective. Finding a common ground is more important with a younger student as there is more of a wall built between younger students and their teachers. I try to teach more socratically if possible. I prefer discussion of the topic rather than memorization.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $45.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Mathematics
School: Rutgers University
Awards I received the David Martin Weiss Memorial Award in 2002 from the Rutgers University Mathematics Department. I scored in the top 30% in 2002 and the top 20% in 2004 in the national collegiate level mathematics prize exam, the William Lowell Putnam Undergraduate Mathematics Competition. I scored in the 93rd percentile on the GRE Math Subject Test. I took the SAT once in seventh grade and scored 560M/460V and then again in eleventh grade and scored 800M/720V. I scored a 5 on the following AP tests: Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Physics C: Mechanics, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Chemistry, Biology. I scored a 10/10 and a 9/10 on the SOA P and FM exams, respectively. I also passed the MFE and MLC SOA exams.
Teacher Certification: No