Ms Katherine F. of Coxsackie NY USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Katherine F.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I realised I was a teacher when I was fourteen and teaching my sister to read. Since then I've taught a variety of classrooms from preschool to community college, from homeschooling to SAT prep to Shakespeare. When I teach, I ask questions, give examples, encourage participation, get excited. My teaching style is hands-on, vibrant, open, infused with interest-- and different for each student, for each student is unique.

I work in the upstate NY area, slide my scale for disadvantaged students, specialise in remedial and gifted work, and welcome any person who comes to me looking to learn. What I want most is to open eyes, open minds; I don't teach my student what to think, but urge them to think for themselves. Critical thinking, clear expression, and social involvement are the core goals of education. That one wild moment, when the lights go on, is the reason I am a teacher.

I hope that you contact me. I'd like to work with you. :]

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $50.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: English
School: Empire State College, NY
Awards National Merit Scholar, 1999
Levine Scholarship, 2000 & 2001
Teacher Certification: No