Location: Los Angeles CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading, Math, Social Studies, Test Preparation
Subjects: Basic English, Grammar, Literature, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Algebra, Basic Math

Todd S. of Los Angeles CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Todd S.
Gender: Male   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

For two years I have been an assistant teacher in an elementary school in West LA; one year was spent in 1st grade, the other in 4th. I will be continuing in 4th grade next fall, as well as entering a program at Cal State Northridge for a teaching credential. In addition to academic tutoring, I have taught music lessons for approximately 1 year.

Anyone who is a student is capable of taking in and processing information; as I see it, the trick is to find the method by which each student can thrive. Some students need to see words in front of them to understand; others need to hear the words in order to process them. These are only two of the many ways kids (and adults, too) may be better off learning. My preference is to meet with a student and talk about their likes and dislikes, both inside the classroom and out. I find this gives solid clues to how a student can learn and retain information. From there, it is simply an application of those techniques to a given topic.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $60.00 to $70.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Theater
School: SUNY Oswego
Teacher Certification: No