Ms Rebekah E. of Fairfax VA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Rebekah E.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have a master's degree in special education focusing on Emotional Disturbances and Learning Disabilities from George Mason University. I taught a K-3rd grade Emotional Disturbance class from 2004-2006 in the public school system. I have a bachelor's degree in Philosophy and the history of math and science from St. John's College. I am currently in graduate school full time working on my Ph.D. in neuroscience. During college I tutored three students each individually. One in math, one in every subject, and one in beginning French. I take a very interactive approach to tutoring. My method is to guide the student as needed, but to make sure that the student is the one who 'discovers' and really understands and 'owns' the information. I love to teach learning strategies that students can use in all their classes as I teach the subject at hand.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Middle School, High School, College
Days Available: Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Short-Term Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $35.00 to $65.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented,Learning Disabilities
Educational Level: Masters
Major: BA Philosophy and History of Math and Science, M.Ed Special Education
School: St. John's College, George Mason University
Awards certified in SRA reading mastery
Completed Reading First teacher academy
Fully trained in Thinking maps, Handle With Care, and Skillstreaming (a social skills program).
Passed VRA (Virginia Reading Assesment)
Passed Praxis II (elementary curriculum test) with "excellent"
Passed GRE (graduate record exam) with 1400 (out of 1600).
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher