Dr Jenny W. of Bremerton WA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Dr Jenny W.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Tutoring is one of the most rewarding jobs out there, and I'm not just saying that because I do it! I'm an avid supporter of "knowledge is power" and a big opposer of "ignorance is bliss." I've been tutoring for over 10 years with more than 1,000 hours of experience and have a lot of experience with SAT/ACT prep, math (up to calculus), sciences and college consulting. I started off as a peer tutors for school community services, and I just fall in love with it. Although I love tutoring all subjects (and I have degree in Biology and Theater Art) , I'll always secretly love medicine the most. It is common for my students to laugh during study sessions. I was voted the most inspirational student by my senior year. For every semester that I attended my medical school at UCSD School of Medicine and undergraduate at UCI, I was on the President�s Honor Roll. I was recognized as the student of the month by several of my AP courses instructors immediately following the AP season.

Learning should be fun! Many students desire to learn but have never been taught how to learn. It is important for the student to learn via the Socratic, or question/answer method. The human brain works and responds based on questions, yet many teachers and tutors drill on facts. Your brain automatically looks for new information to assimilate when you ask it a question and then provide the answer, instead of just providing an answer. Scientists believe this is how our memory develops strong links in our brains. In addition, every student has a different, or combination of different learning styles. For example, I learn better using flash cards which questions on one side and the answers on the other when learning a foreign language, but assimilate history information better by participating in class question and answer sessions. Furthermore, every student has different interests and I have experience developing person centered and extremely individualize curriculum around your child's interests so that even a child who is incredibly bored in any classroom environment, can excel when I am tutoring.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Other
Major: Medicine
School: UW
Teacher Certification: No