Mark L. of Knoxville TN USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mark L.
Gender: Male   Age: 51-65
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

My initial background is in the sciences, having been a bioengineering technologist involved in alternative energy research at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. In the early nineties I became disabled, and returned to the University of Tennessee to complete a self-directed major in religious studies, investigating the religious aspects of Twelve-Step recovery.

I also studied many areas of history, both at the undergraduate and graduate level. Over the years I worked as a volunteer tutor for many groups, and I developed a singular talent for teaching composition and the related grammar required to be truly successful in virtually every field of study.

It is my belief that anyone can learn, regardless of circumstance, and, within reason, regardless of disability.I have tutored students from many diverse backgrounds, including homeless veterans trying to reenter a field of education, convicts in jails and penitentiaries who worked hard to earn a GED, troubled young people trying to recover from chemical dependency and behavioral problems, and those with various learning disabilities who require little more than some extra patience and care. In addition to having developed a patient and caring tutoring method in composition and numerous fields of basic education, I am qualified to tutor undergraduate students in most areas of history, social sciences, general science, and religious studies, particularly the religions and philosophies of India. I have also studied some of the Eastern meditative disciplines, several of which I practice and can teach where required.

I currently reside in Knoxville, Tennessee, at the head of the Tennessee River, just north of the Great Smoky Mountains. My family has lived in the South since the 17th century, and I am a Son of The Revolution. I look forward to helping interested students learn new methods of study, or simply to help one get past a sticking point and move forward with the wonderful experience that is education.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $10.00 to $50.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented, Physical Disabilities, Remedial
Educational Level: Masters
Major: History
School: Belford University
Awards My undergraduate degree was completed summa cum laude, with a GPA of 3.94. My graduate degree, an M.A. in history, was completed magna cum laude, with a GPA of 3.75. I am a member of numerous honor societies, particularly Phi Beta Kappa, Phi Kappa Phi, Tau Alpha Pi, and Golden Key.I am a published author or co-author of eight peer-reviewed articles.

Regardless of honors and laurels, I will not deny a student simply because of an inability to pay scale compensation.
Teacher Certification: No