International Tutor outside USA

Location: Portland OR USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: ESL: English as a Second Language, Journalism, Literature, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Julie M. of Portland OR USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Julie M.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am thrilled to have the opportunity to work with you.

Here are some of my qualifications:
1. Editor for three literary journals,
2. Certified ESL tutor through Oregon Literacy,
3. Self Publishing workshop leader, and
4. Master of Fine Arts.

As part of our first contact, I will assess your needs and education background. Together we will find a pace that suits you.

As an MFA, I can work on scholarly essays, research essays, and creative fictional work. I can line edit, if that is what you're looking for. Or I can show you new ways to approach a thesis-based essay. Lyrical essays, poetic forms, creative non-fiction and short stories will benefit from a sympathetic, generous reader.

A tutor can be someone who gives you that extra encouragement, the person who shares enough joy for the subject that you begin to see what makes it worth your time. I hope I can be that inspiring person for you.


Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $100.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Fiction
School: Pacific University
Awards Awarded Esther B. Wagner Prize in Fiction.
Published in several literary journals.
Published haiku poetry chapbook.
Teacher Certification: No