Location: Austin TX USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Geometry, Middle School Math, Trigonometry

Mrs Emily H. of Austin TX USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mrs Emily H.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I tutored back in high school in both English and math, but that was quite a few years ago! I'm working on my degree in Math Education, but I am taking a year off for the birth of our son and figured that tutoring would be good practice.

I am great at finding new ways to look at and explain a problem, as there are several ways to do even the simplest of math. My favorite type of math is Trig, as it combines the visual & logical and utilizes all that has been learned before. I feel that in teaching Trig, you are also teaching basic math, Algebra, and Geometry all at once.

I was a G/T child, so I understand the boredom that some gifted children find with math, and maybe able to help them find interest in it. I also have had experience working with young children with learning disabilities, mostly with autism spectrum disorders. I would *love* to work with home schooled children as well.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $5.00 to $20.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: Less than a year
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented, Home Schooling, Learning Disabilities, Remedial
Educational Level: Other
Major: Math Education
School: Hopefully UoT Fall '09
Teacher Certification: No