Location: Boston MA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Grammar, Literature, Writing

Andi P. of Boston MA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Andi P.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I love books, writing, and teaching! I'm a 26 year-old Harvard graduate student living in Boston's Back Bay. I'm available for tutoring in a variety of subjects for students across a wide range of academic levels--elementary to graduate school. The subjects with which I have the most experience are English and world literature (including grammar, college application essays, research skills, poetry, etc), religion/theology, standardized testing (SAT and LSAT), and history. If you need help with a college application personal statement or with an undergraduate/graduate paper, I can definitely help you! If you're trying to get through Dante or Chaucer, I can definitely help you with that too! If you need a crash course in academic paper-writing, I can definitely do that as well!

During high school, I tutored third and fourth graders in reading and math and also taught in a middle school computer lab. While I've been in school, I have gained experience teaching and tutoring college and graduate students. In addition to teaching a sophomore-level English composition course at a local college, I have also tutored a disabled law student at BC Law, edited papers and presentations by both undergraduates and professors, and helped high schoolers with college application materials (essays, resumes, etc). In addition to having experience in academic environments, I've also spent many summers teaching at camps. Whatever your age or academic level, I'd be happy to work with you!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $35.00 to $65.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: English Literature
School: Wellesley College
Awards I graduated from Wellesley College with a degree in English Literature and received both college and departmental honors. In addition, I received awards my junior and senior years for critical prose and for poetry as well. I am currently finishing a masters degree at Harvard University in comparative religious and literary studies.
Teacher Certification: No