Location: Plant City FL USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Trigonometry, Middle School Math, Geometry, Calculus, Business Math, Basic Math, Algebra

Jamie H. of Plant City FL USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Jamie H.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

My name is Jamie and I have been working as a professional tutor for over 10 years. I graduated from the University of Iowa in 2002 with a BSE in Civil Engineering. After working a short time as an engineer, I chose to return to what I enjoy doing -- teaching. I have extensive experience in tutoring math of all levels -- from learning to count through Calculus I, II and III.

While in college, I was a teaching assistant for Mechanics of Fluids and Transport Processes. I was an unofficial tutor for the math department. Before changing to Engineering, I was a physics major, so I can also help students with physics and basic chemistry. I have written my own SAT / ACT prep program which runs between 6 and 12 weeks depending on the speed and ability of the students. My average increase in scores is 20-40 points per section (60-120 points overall).

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $50.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Civil Engineering
School: University of Iowa
Teacher Certification: No